Learn how to Turn Off Instagram’s Action Status Feature

Posted on Posted in Blog

Instagram scrollers beware: your preferred photo-sharing app has a feature that shows friends when you had been last online.

Similar to the activity status found on Facebook Messenger and WhatsApp, Instagram’s “Activity Status” setting shows when you had been last on the application. It’s now switched off by default in your accounts, but it’s preferable to be safe.

Let’s go over just how it works — then take a look at how you can transform it off.  

New Data: Instagram Engagement Report [2021 Version]

How does the activity status feature work on Instagram?

The activity status feature shows people you’ve direct messaged (DM’d) when you were last online and whether you’re currently active on Instagram.

Your status is only shown to individuals you follow. When someone follows you but you don’t adhere to them back, they will not be able to view your status. The same is true for your friends. You will see when they were last online if they stick to you back.

Your friends’ standing is visible when you get around to your direct communications:

Instagram last online feature in a user's direct messages

Remember: the function only shows whether you’re online and once you last accessed the app. Your friends won’t see the posts you’ve liked or commented on.

On the fence about switching it off? Continue reading to find out whether you should continue activity status on or off.

Should you keep exercise status on or even off?

There are a few benefits to maintaining it on. This allows you to keep tabs on your friends’ online standing without feeling like you’re intruding. This way, if you want to send the funny meme at just the right moment, you may expect your friend to see it immediately or soon afterward.

Turning it away from, however , offers the great benefit of being able to access Instagram without anyone knowing. That means that you can answer DMs at your discretion, and you don’t feel as if anyone is keeping tabs on when you’re utilizing the app. The one disadvantage is that once you convert the feature away, you won’t be able to watch anyone else’s action status.

In order to keep your late-night puppy picture scroll festivals completely private, don’t fret. You can turn off Instagram’s activity position feature with the subsequent quick steps.

Here’s the environment you’re looking for:

Instagram activity status setting inside Privacy settings on the app

Once that will setting is toggled off, you’re liberated to resume scrolling undetected. The best part? You can transform it on at any time in case you change your mind.

Stay Private by Turning Off Your Activity Status

Staying private on social media is already difficult enough. To make sure that you’re not unintentionally showing your activity status to those whom you’ve DM’d, transform it off in your configurations. That way, you can take pleasure in privacy while you utilize the app.

Editor’s note: This post was originally published in January 2018 and has been up-to-date for comprehensiveness.

instagram statistics

Spread the love
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *